5 mins read

List of Twenty20 Cricket Leagues Across The Globe

T20 cricket leagues have swept the globe, offering shorter, more thrilling matches. Major cricket nations, from Africa to Australasia, host domestic and franchise T20 competitions, redefining the sport’s landscape.

Cricket, once known for its traditional, long-format matches that could last several days, has seen a dramatic transformation over the past few decades with the emergence of Twenty20 (T20) cricket leagues. These high-octane, shorter-format competitions have brought a new level of excitement and entertainment to the sport, capturing the imagination of cricket fans around the world. In this article, we will explore the T20 leagues in major cricket-playing countries, spanning across Africa, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, Europe, and even some international tournaments.



  • National Elite League Twenty20 (2008)

Kenya and Uganda:

  • East Africa Premier League (2011–2013)

South Africa:

  • Betway T20 Challenge (2003–2021)
  • CSA Provincial Twenty20 (2004–2020)
  • Mzansi Super League (2018–2021), a franchise league
  • SA20 (2023), a franchise league


  • Stanbic Bank 20 Series (2006–present)
  • Women’s T20 Cup (2020/21–present)

The African continent has seen a growing interest in T20 cricket, with South Africa leading the way with established domestic competitions like the Betway T20 Challenge and the Mzansi Super League. Additionally, Zimbabwe has its Stanbic Bank 20 Series and Women’s T20 Cup, contributing to the regional growth of T20 cricket.



  • CIBC National Cricket League (2005–present)
  • Global T20 Canada (2018–present), a franchise league


  • Stanford 20/20 (2006–2008)
  • Caribbean Twenty20 (2010–2013)
  • Twenty20 Blaze (2012–present)
  • Caribbean Premier League (2013–present), a franchise league
  • Women’s Caribbean Premier League (2022–present), a franchise league

United States:

  • American Twenty20 Championship (2011)
  • American Premier League (2021)
  • Minor League Cricket (2021–present)
  • Major League Cricket (2023), a franchise league

The Caribbean has long been a hub for T20 cricket, with the Caribbean Premier League being one of the most prominent T20 leagues globally. The United States, Canada, and other nations in the Americas are also catching up, with the development of their own T20 competitions.



  • Shpageeza Cricket League (2013–present)
  • Afghanistan Premier League (2018), a franchise league


  • National Cricket League Twenty20 (2010)
  • Victory Day T20 Cup (2013)
  • Bangladesh Premier League (2012–present), a franchise league
  • Dhaka Premier Division Twenty20 Cricket League (2019–present)
  • Bangabandhu T20 Cup (2020)

Hong Kong:

  • Hong Kong T20 Blitz (2016–2019)


  • Indian Cricket League (2007–2009), a franchise league with national representative teams from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and the rest of the World.
  • Indian Premier League (2008–present), a franchise league
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (2009–present)
  • Celebrity Cricket League (2009–present)
  • Women’s T20 Challenge (2018–2022)
  • Legends League Cricket (2022)
  • Women’s Premier League (2023), a franchise league
  • Legends Cricket Trophy (2023)

Significant regional leagues include:

  • Karnataka Premier League (2009–present)
  • Odisha Premier League (2011 to 2020)
  • Tamil Nadu Premier League (2016–present)
  • Saurashtra Premier League (2019–present)
  • KCA President’s Cup T20 (2020–present)
  • Andhra Premier League (2022-2023)
  • Baroda T20 Challenge (2022)
  • Maharashtra Premier League (2023)
  • UP T20 League (2023)
  • Rajasthan Premier League (2023)
  • Sher e Punjab T20 Cup (2023)


  • Everest Premier League (2017–present)
  • Dhangadhi Premier League (2017–present)
  • Pokhara Premier League (2018–present)
  • Women’s Champions League (2019–present)
  • Nepal T20 League (2022–present), a franchise league


  • MCA T20 Championship (2014–2016)


  • Legends League Cricket (2022–present)
  • Oman D20 League (3rd Editition in 2023)


  • National T20 Cup (2004–present)
  • Ramadan T20 Cup (2013)
  • Haier Super 8 T20 Cup (2011–2015)
  • Pakistan Super League (2016–present), a franchise league
  • PCB Women’s Twenty20 Tournament (2019/20–present)
  • National Triangular T20 Women’s Cricket Championship (2020–present)
  • Kashmir Premier League (2021–present)
  • Pakistan Junior League (2022), a franchise league
  • Pakistan Women’s T20 League (planned from 2023)

Sri Lanka:

  • SLC Twenty20 Tournament (2004–2018)
  • SLC Super Provincial Twenty20 (2008–2016)
  • Sri Lanka Premier League (2011–2012), a franchise league
  • Super 4’s T20 (2014)
  • SLC T20 League (2018)
  • Lanka Premier League (2020–present), a franchise league
  • Women’s Invitation T20 Tournament (2022–present)

United Arab Emirates:

  • Masters Champions League (2016), a franchise league for retired players
  • Abu Dhabi T20 Trophy (2018), a franchise league
  • International League T20 (2023), a franchise league
  • ILT20 Development Tournament



  • KFC Twenty20 Big Bash (2005–2011)
  • Big Bash League (2011–present), a franchise league
  • Australian Women’s Twenty20 Cup (2007–2015)
  • Women’s Big Bash League (2015–present), a franchise league

New Zealand:

  • Men’s Super Smash (2005–present)
  • Women’s Super Smash (2007–present)


England and Wales:

  • Twenty20 Cup, known as:
  • Twenty20 Cup (2003–2009)
  • Friends Life t20 (2010–2013)
  • Natwest T20 Blast (2014–2017)
  • Vitality Blast (2018–present)
  • Women’s Twenty20 Cup (2009–present)
  • Women’s Cricket Super League (2016–2019)
  • Charlotte Edwards Cup (2021–present)


  • Inter-Provincial Trophy (2013–present)
  • Women’s Super Series (2015–present)


  • Dutch Twenty20 Cup (2007–present)


  • Murgitroyd Twenty20 (2008–present)
  • Regional Pro Series (2016)

Scotland and Netherlands:

  • North Sea Pro Series (2014–2015)

Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands:

  • Euro T20 Slam (planned to begin 2024)

Multi-national T20 competitions

  • International 20:20 Club Championship (2005), hosted by Leicestershire County Cricket Club in England
  • Champions League Twenty20 (2009–2014)
  • Road Safety World Series (2020–present)
  • Legends League Cricket (2022–present)
  • Global Power Cricket League (2022)

Keep visiting The Ganga Times for such beautiful articles. Follow us on Google News,  Facebook, TwitterInstagram, and Koo for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *