2 mins read

Lockie Ferguson to Lead New Zealand’s Second-String Squad for Bangladesh ODI Series

Lockie Ferguson has been appointed captain of New Zealand’s secondary ODI squad for their Bangladesh series. Key players rest for the World Cup, while uncapped Dean Foxcroft joins the lineup.

In a surprising move, New Zealand has appointed Lockie Ferguson as the captain of a second-string squad for the upcoming ODI series in Bangladesh. The decision comes as many first-choice players have been granted a well-deserved break following their tour of England, with a focus on keeping them fresh for the impending World Cup in India.

The regular ODI skipper, Kane Williamson, has also been omitted from the squad as he continues to race against time to regain fitness ahead of the World Cup. In his absence, the responsibility of leading the team will fall on the shoulders of Tom Latham, who will serve as the stand-in skipper.

Several key players have been given a rest for the series, including wicketkeeper-batters Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips, allrounders Daryl Mitchell and Mitchell Santner, and pace bowlers Matt Henry and Tim Southee. This strategic decision aims to ensure their readiness and peak performance for the highly anticipated World Cup campaign.

Mark Chapman and James Neesham have been ruled out of selection due to their personal commitments – both are set to become fathers and will be present for the birth of their respective children.

Senior pacer Trent Boult, who recently made his return to the squad, will not be granted a break and is expected to play a crucial role in the upcoming series.

Excitingly, uncapped Dean Foxcroft has earned a place in the squad and might make his debut in the 50-over format after having recently made his T20I debut for New Zealand during their tour of the UAE.

The coaching staff is also undergoing a temporary change, with Head Coach Gary Stead taking a break. Batting coach Luke Ronchi will assume the role of head coach for the three ODI matches scheduled to be played on September 21, 23, and 26 in Dhaka.

The New Zealand squad for the Bangladesh ODI series includes:

  • Lockie Ferguson (Captain)
  • Finn Allen
  • Tom Blundell
  • Trent Boult
  • Chad Bowes
  • Dane Cleaver
  • Dean Foxcroft
  • Kyle Jamieson
  • Cole McConchie
  • Adam Milne
  • Henry Nicholls
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Blair Tickner
  • Will Young

This series will not only provide opportunities for the emerging talents in the New Zealand cricketing fraternity but also serve as a test of leadership for Lockie Ferguson, who takes on the captaincy role in the absence of several seasoned players.

Keep visiting Cricket Ganga for Cricket News and articles. Follow us on Google News,  Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Koo for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *