2 mins read

Match Preview: Asia Cup 2023 Pakistan vs Bangladesh

Pakistan and Bangladesh face off in the Asia Cup Super Four at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium. Pakistan’s potent bowling trio challenges Bangladesh’s batting, promising an intense match amid sweltering conditions.

Lahore, Pakistan – The cricketing world’s attention is turning towards the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore as Pakistan and Bangladesh gear up for what promises to be an exciting clash in the Super Four stage of the Asia Cup. The encounter is set to take place on Wednesday at 2:30 pm local time (3:00 pm IST).

After a thrilling contest against arch-rivals India that ended in a rain-affected draw, Pakistan is riding high on confidence. Their bowlers, led by the trio of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, and Haris Rauf, left the Indian batters struggling to find their footing. Pakistan’s performance in that game was a testament to their formidable bowling attack, capable of causing trouble on any surface.

Pakistan’s last home game in this Asia Cup edition, this fixture in Lahore holds added significance for the team. They are eager to build on their momentum and are hoping for an improved performance from opener Fakhar Zaman, who has had a quiet August.

On the other hand, Bangladesh is coming into this match with newfound confidence after a spectacular batting display against Afghanistan. The surprise move of promoting Mehidy Hasan as an opener paid off, as he scored a brilliant century. However, they face a tougher challenge against Pakistan’s pace and swing bowling attack. Unfortunately for Bangladesh, they will be without Najmul Hossain Shanto, who has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury.

As the teams prepare to face off, cricket fans can expect an intense battle on a good batting track in Lahore. However, they will have to endure the scorching heat, with temperatures expected to reach 40 degrees Celsius, which may lead to some rest and rotation among the fast bowlers.

Probable Starting Lineups:

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (w), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Mehidy Hasan, Litton Das, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud

Did You Know?

  • Bangladesh has won four of the last five completed ODIs against Pakistan.
  • Naseem Shah has never gone wicketless in his short 12-match ODI career.
  • Babar Azam has hit eight fifty-plus scores with two hundreds in ODIs this year, establishing himself as a key figure in Pakistan’s batting lineup.

Keep visiting Cricket Ganga for Cricket News and articles. Follow us on Google News,  Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Koo for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *