3 mins read

Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann Return, and Sybrand Engelbrecht Set to Debut for the Dutch at the World Cup

The Dutch cricket team, led by Scott Edwards, is set to return to the World Cup with a squad featuring the return of veterans and the debut of Sybrand Engelbrecht, enhancing their cricketing prowess.

The Netherlands cricket team has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming 50-over World Cup in India, marking the Netherlands’ return to the prestigious tournament after a decade-long absence. The squad includes some familiar faces and a promising debutant, showcasing the country’s commitment to cricket excellence.

Netherlands Squad:Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Wesley Barresi, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Ryan Klein, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren.

(Travelling reserves:Noah Croes, Kyle Klein)

Key Squad Members:

  1. Scott Edwards (Captain and Wicketkeeper): Scott Edwards will once again lead the team as the captain, and he will also don the wicketkeeping gloves. Edwards led the squad to a commendable second-place finish at the World Cup Qualifier earlier this year.
  2. Roelof van der Merwe: The experienced all-rounder, who currently plays for Somerset, is set to return to the national team. Van der Merwe’s left-arm spin and hard-hitting batting will add depth to the squad.
  3. Paul van Meekeren: The fast bowler, representing Gloucestershire, brings his pace and experience back to the Dutch squad. Van Meekeren’s ability to trouble batsmen with his pace and swing will be valuable.
  4. Colin Ackermann: Ackermann, who plays for Leicestershire, is another seasoned campaigner returning to the Dutch side. His batting and handy off-spin will bolster the team’s balance.
  5. Sybrand Engelbrecht: A potential debutant for the Netherlands, Sybrand Engelbrecht is a former Cape Cobras batsman who recently became Dutch-eligible. He has been impressing with his performances at Voorburg CC and is expected to add depth to the batting lineup.

Other Squad Members:

Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Wesley Barresi, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Logan van Beek, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Ryan Klein, Aryan Dutt.

Travelling Reserves:
Noah Croes, Kyle Klein

Coach Ryan Cook expressed his excitement about Engelbrecht’s inclusion, stating, “It’s fantastic just to broaden the player pool. He’s been doing very well for his club here and put in some good performances against Guernsey for the A side.”

The absence of key players like Clayton Floyd, Daniel Doram, Tim Pringle, Fred Klaassen, Timm van der Gugten, and Tom Cooper has opened up opportunities for others in the squad. Ryan Klein secured his spot ahead of Vivian Kingma, and some notable names missed the cut, including Shane Snater and Brandon Glover.

The squad will travel to Bengaluru on September 18th for an 8-day preparatory camp, including two matches against Karnataka. Despite the lack of official ODI fixtures since the Qualifier, Cook is optimistic about the team’s readiness for the World Cup, emphasizing the importance of training camps to adapt to conditions.

As the Netherlands prepares to make its mark in the World Cup, the squad’s blend of international experience and emerging talent reflects the nation’s dedication to cricket and its aspiration to perform at the highest level.

Keep visiting Cricket Ganga for Cricket News and articles. Follow us on Google News,  Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Koo for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *