2 mins read

Yashasvi Jaiswal’s Century Powers India to Victory Over Nepal in Men’s Asian Games Quarter-Final

In Men’s Asian Games quarter-final, India defeated Nepal by 23 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal’s explosive century and a collective bowling effort secured India’s path to the semi-finals.

In the first match at the Asian Games for India at the Pingfeng Campus Cricket field in Hangzou, India emerged victorious against Nepal in the first quarter-final of the Men’s Asian Games competition, winning by 23 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal’s explosive century was the cornerstone of India’s impressive performance, even though Nepal mounted a valiant run-chase.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, the Indian team set the stage on fire with a scorching start, maintaining a run rate of over 10 runs per over during the initial ten overs. Ruturaj Gaikwad was the first to be dismissed, contributing 25 runs in a partnership of 103 with Jaiswal. Subsequently, Tilak Varma and Jitesh Sharma faced difficulties in finding the boundaries, leading to a brief collapse as India lost 4 wickets for 47 runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal departed after a sensational 49-ball century. However, a fiery partnership of 52 runs off just 22 balls between Shivam Dube and Rinku Singh propelled India to a formidable total of 202-4 in their allotted 20 overs.

In their pursuit of the challenging target, Indian pacers Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, and Shivam Dube encountered difficulties in maintaining an economical bowling rate due to the small ground dimensions. Nevertheless, they managed to claim five wickets for 112 runs in 11 overs. The true heroes of the day were the spinners, Ravi Bishnoi and Sai Kishore, who together picked up four wickets while conceding 49 runs in their eight overs. Nepal displayed an aggressive approach from the outset but lost wickets at regular intervals. Ultimately, they fell 24 runs short of their target, leading to their elimination from the tournament.

The match concluded with India securing a commanding victory as they dismissed Nepal for 179-9 in 20 overs, thanks to excellent performances by their bowlers. Yashasvi Jaiswal’s century and a collective bowling effort proved to be the defining factors in India’s triumph.

Brief Scores:
India: 202-4 in 20 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 100, Rinku Singh 37*, Dipendra Singh 2-31)
Nepal: 179-9 in 20 overs (Dipendra Singh Airee 32, Ravi Bishnoi 3-24, Avesh Khan 3-32)
Result: India won by 23 runs.

Keep visiting The Ganga Times for such beautiful articles. Follow us on Google News,  Facebook, TwitterInstagram, and Koo for regular updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *